"When you read the history of the world you are reading a saga of bloodshed and greed and folly the import of which is impossible to ignore. And yet we imagine the future will somehow be different" 

Cormac McCarthy



Mike L. Nichols is a graduate of Idaho State University and recipient of the Ford Swetnam Poetry Prize.


"Dead Girl Dancing" is his first collection of poetry. Many of the poems in this collection were first published on the Web in various journals.


Watch for forthcoming books from Mike, and thank you for visiting this site.



A Brief Ceremony


Singled out in sorrow

we sit beneath the tent

shielded from every

element but grief,

while the onlookers

look on, thinking what

it must feel like to feel

like we tent people and

having nothing but sorry

to say.

-Mike L. Nichols